OCCURRENCE #8

Thu, Nov 14 at 7:30pm

VIP
more info
VIP Ticket holders receive a reserved seat and a complimentary beverage at OCCURRENCE #8.
$40.00
$43.47 with fees
Buy Tickets
×
×
Senior (60+) VIP
more info
VIP Ticket holders receive a reserved seat and a complimentary beverage at OCCURRENCE #8.
$30.00
$32.85 with fees
Buy Tickets
×
×
General Admission
more info
Ticket to OCCURRENCE #8
$25.00
$27.54 with fees
Buy Tickets
×
×
Students & Seniors (60+)
more info
Ticket to OCCURRENCE #8
$20.00
$22.23 with fees
Buy Tickets
×
×
Pay What You Can
more info
$10 Suggested Ticket Price
FREE
Add to Cart
×
×
TeenTix
more info
Ticket to OCCURRENCE #8
$3.74
$5.00 with fees
Buy Tickets
×
×

OCCURRENCE #8 is a compilation of improvisations exploring personal history, memory, autobiography and their relationships to the body. 

In 2009, during a residency at the MacDowell Artist Colony in Peterborough, NH, Donald Byrd pondered the notion that personal history, memory, and autobiography are housed in the body, and conducted an experiment seeking to answer the question, “how does one access them?” Each day of the residency, Donald recorded himself doing a series of physical/dance improvisations. In studying the tapes, Donald considered that his personhood, the impact of his lived experiences and traumas, his intuition, and his intellect all manifested in the spontaneity of the movement choices he made during the improvisations. 

A selection of these recorded improvisations has been reconfigured, manipulated, and transformed into solos and duets for The Spectrum Dance Theater Company Artists for OCCURRENCE #8.


Madrona Studios

800 Lake Washington Blvd
Seattle, WA 98122

Share This Event

Related Shows

November 2019 - April 2020

Spectrum Dance Theater Season Passes

November 14-17, 2019

OCCURRENCE #8

Fri, Nov 15 at 8pm

OCCURRENCE #8

Sat, Nov 16 at 8pm

OCCURRENCE #8

Sun, Nov 17 at 2pm

OCCURRENCE #8

December 12-15, 2019

Donald Byrd's The Harlem Nutcracker

Thu, Dec 12 at 7:30pm

Donald Byrd's The Harlem Nutcracker

Fri, Dec 13 at 8pm

Donald Byrd's The Harlem Nutcracker

Sat, Dec 14 at 8pm

Donald Byrd's The Harlem Nutcracker

Sun, Dec 15 at 2pm

Donald Byrd's The Harlem Nutcracker

Mon, Mar 30, 2020 at 7pm

Wake Up!

April 2-5, 2020

POOL

Thu, Apr 2, 2020 at 7:30pm

POOL

Fri, Apr 3, 2020 at 8pm

POOL

Sat, Apr 4, 2020 at 8pm

POOL