Seattle Modern Orchestra

Tue, Nov 8, 2022 at 8pm

This event has passed.

Doors: 7pm

COVID PROTOCOLS: All our staff are fully vaccinated, and we ask that our patrons be vaccinated as well. Our staff will be masked, and we encourage our audience to wear masks as much as possible.

Advance tickets can only be purchased online-we do not sell advance tickets at the venue. Refunds are not available within 48 hours of the event. Tickets do not guarantee seating during shows at the Royal Room. Seating is first come first served. The Royal Room is All Ages until 10pm.

Seattle Modern Orchestra celebrates the 100th Anniversary of the Greek composer Iannis Xenakis with his iconic Akéa for piano and string quartet, and the 2 versions of Mikka «S» for solo violin, alongside the Seattle premiere of celebrated composer Henry Threadgill’s Sixfivetwo and works by Vijay Iyer and local composer Ha-Yang Kim.

Led by co-artistic directors Julia Tai and Jérémy Jolley, SMO commissions and premieres new works from an international lineup of composers, in addition to presenting important pieces from the contemporary repertoire that are rarely if ever heard by Seattle audiences. The ensemble “operates at that exciting cusp between old and new, between tradition and innovation” (Vanguard Seattle) curating new sounds and experiences for concert goers in the region.

“…the future is more likely to be found…with the Seattle Modern Orchestra.” - Alex Ross, The New Yorker


Henry Threadgill  Sixfivetwo (2018) for string quartet - Seattle Premiere

Vijay Iyer Mutations IV, VII, and X for string quartet, piano and electronics (2005)

Ha-Yang Kim Lens for cello and pedals (2006)

Iannis Xenakis Mikka (1971), Mikka «S» (1975)

Iannis Xenakis Akea (1986)



Eric Rynes and Pamela Liu- violins 

Alessandra Barrett - viola 

Ha-Yang Kim - Cello 

Stephen Olsen - Piano 


Royal Room

5000 Rainier Ave S
Seattle, WA 98118