The Cutting Edge: Body Modification

Sun, Nov 11, 2018 from 6pm - 9pm

  • 18+
This event has passed.
An exploration of Branding, Scarification, Cuttings, Removals & Mutilations.

Body modification is not really so strange within a culture where identity is often expressed through appearance—in mainstream society includes fashion consumption, cosmetic surgery, and botox. This is about intentional permanent or semi-permanent alterations of the living body for ritual, folk medicine, aesthetics, or corporal punishment. This class will cover that broad spectrum of why people do it and the various techniques on how to perform such an alteration.
 
All sexes, genders, races, ethnicities, sexual orientations, relationship orientations, religions are welcome and celebrated.

Cost at the door: $45.
No late entry will be allowed due to the intimate nature of this workshop. Doors will be locked at 10 minutes after the start time.
Water available. Please bring your own bottle or cup.
Attendance is limited to 30 people.
Questions may be directed to: education@thefspc.org

About the Educator:
 
Tom Hill is a new to the Seattle, WA art community (originally from Chicago, IL). In 2004, he received his BA in Art, Communication and Theater from Monmouth College.  Even though Tom has been performing on a professional level since he was a teenager, college is where he delved into performance art creations of experiential environmentally controlled happenings. Tom exploded out on the scene for his artistic hook suspension performance pieces. Tom is an experienced and licensed professional that has been working in the industry performing body piercings and body modifications since 2010. Tom has toured all over the country, lecturing on Hook Suspension and Needle Play, showcasing those skills nationwide. To him, it’s not just another piercing, it is an unique and personal experience.
 
This event is presented by the Pan Eros Foundation.

Gallery Erato

309 First Avenue South
Seattle, WA 98104

Share This Event

Related Shows

Wed, Jul 17 from 7pm - 9pm

Body Manipulation Techniques

Thu, Jul 18 from 7pm - 9pm

Whips and Rope

Sat, Jul 20 from 1pm - 4pm

Bondage for Beginners

Sun, Jul 21 from 7pm - 8:30pm

Trauma Informed Kink: An Introduction

Mon, Jul 22 from 7pm - 9pm

The Pleasure Practice

Sat, Aug 3 from 1pm - 4pm

Acts of Loving Service

Sun, Aug 4 from 1pm - 4pm

Bondage for Beauty

Fri, Aug 9 at 7pm

Beyond Nude Life Drawing

Mon, Aug 12 at 7pm

Naked Yoga

Sat, Aug 17 at 10am - Sun, Aug 18 at 12am

It's All In Your Head

Mon, Aug 26 from 7pm - 9pm

The Pleasure Practice

Sat, Sep 7 from 1pm - 4pm

Pitfalls of Partials

Mon, Sep 9 at 7pm

Naked Yoga

Sat, Sep 14 from 1pm - 3pm

Exploring Electricity

Wed, Sep 18 at 12pm

Naked Yoga