How to Manage Consent Risk

Sat, Jan 19 from 1pm - 4pm

This event has passed.

Consent is complicated. There are many different aspects to it. And it can be hard to know how to protect yourself from both committing a consent violation or from having one commited against you.

We're going to look at different aspects of consent, explore related risk factors, and talk about how to manage them. While there is no way to reduce risk to 0 when intereacting with another human being, there are many ways to both understand and reduce the consent risks we face. Together we'll work on what risks you might be facing and how to lower that risk.

This is a new curriculum. Handouts will be provided. Please bring your own situations and questions to share. We will be discussing issues of a sexual nature. This workshop is for both people concerned about ways to reduce their risk of consent violation and for people concerned about the risk of upholding the consent of others.

 

No late entry will be allowed due to the nature of this workshop. Doors will be locked at 10 minutes after the start time.

Open to all 18+   Attendance is limited to 30 people.

Water available. Please bring your own bottle or cup. No disposable cups will be provided.

All sexes, genders, races, ethnicities, sexualities, sexual orientations, relationship orientations, religions are welcome and celebrated.

For questions, email theconsentacademy@gmail.com

 

About the Educators:
The Consent Academy is a group of dedicated educators and activists who provide quality consent training and consultations. We have come together to promote Consent Culture through education, speaking out, and supporting organizations that want to do better. We talk a lot about consent and consensual activity. It’s the cornerstone of what we teach and who we are. And while that is easy to say, we know that living a dedication to consent takes work, awareness, and a willingness to engage.

Our primary educator for this workshop will be: Sar Surmick - Consent Academy Director

Presented by the Consent Academy: www.consent.academy


Gallery Erato

309 First Avenue South
Seattle, WA 98104

Share This Event

Related Shows

Sat, Apr 20 from 1pm - 3:30pm

Talking With Youth About Consent

April 26, 27, & 28, 2019

Seattle Erotic Art Festival 2019

4/26 at 6:30pm; 4/27 at 3:00pm; 4/28 at 3:00pm

Tea Practice & Conversation at SEAF 2019

Sat, Apr 27 at 3pm

Figure Sculpting Fun

Wed, May 1 from 7pm - 9pm

The Pleasure Practice

Sun, May 12 from 6pm - 9pm

Rope Handling

Mon, May 13 at 7pm

Naked Yoga

Wed, May 15 from 7pm - 10pm

BDSM 101

Fri, May 17 at 4pm - Sun, May 19 at 6pm

A Consent Educator Retreat

Wed, May 22 at 12pm

Naked Yoga

Sun, May 26 from 1pm - 4pm

Bondage for Pain

Mon, May 27 at 7pm

The Pleasure Practice

Sat, Jun 1 from 1pm - 2:30pm

Transcending Shame

Fri, Jun 7 from 7pm - 11:30pm

Needles: Basics To Bondage

Sat, Jun 8, 2019 from 1pm - 4pm

Beyond the Basics: Nonverbal Consent